What is a Vegetarian?


Vegetarians are people who avoid eating beef, poultry, fish, game, shellfish, and pork. In place of these proteins, vegetarians typically stick to eating grains, seeds, vegetables, fruits, dairy, soy, nuts, beans, eggs, and so on. Some vegetarians, known as lacto-vegetarians, will eat dairy, but refrain from eating eggs.

Why do people choose to be Vegetarian?

People become vegetarians for all different reasons. Some choose to abstain from eating meat following dietary motivations, while others believe that they are protecting the livelihood of the animal kingdom by eating an herbivore style diet. Still others refrain from eating meat for religious purposes. Buddhists, Hindus, and Jains, for example, typically eat according to a vegetarian lifestyle in faith, guided by their religious teachings.